We are IBEC

The Integrated Bioscience and Built
Environment Consortium

Our Leadership


Jayne B. Morrow, PhD

President, CEO and Board founding member

Jayne has a broad portfolio of technical program and policy development expertise relevant to the United States and international science community priorities. Throughout her career, she has demonstrated a dynamic ability to work across stakeholder groups to foster engagement, create strategic visions, and build consensus on a range of technical program and public policy areas, including national security, environmental health, public health and safety, and law enforcement.


Kenneth F. Martinez (CAPT USPHS Ret)

Chief Science Officer and Board founding member

Ken is an Environmental Engineer and Industrial Hygienist with experience in leading and conducting large-scale research; managing programs in occupational safety and health and emergency response; and creating and teaching professional development courses. He has more than 33 years of CDC expertise in hazardous agent exposure characterization and mitigation control practices in the manufacturing and healthcare industry. Since retiring from CDC, he served 8 years in the CBRN space as a consultant focusing on a national biodetection program. Mr. Martinez is a recognized subject matter expert in biological agents, including infectious disease and bioterrorism agents.


Edward J. Cowan (CDR USN Ret)

COO, Board founding member and Secretary

Ted has more than 30 years of experience in disaster preparedness and emergency management, strategic and operational planning, training, exercise coordination, and operational support. He brings a unique combination of analytical, lessons learned, and vulnerability experience assessment proficiency. He has a command of requirements development related to disaster response and the formulation of comprehensive mitigation strategies.


Anthony C. Cowan

Chairman of the Implementation Committee, Board founding member, and Treasurer

Tony is a technology and healthcare integration entrepreneur. He has 30 years of experience developing medical public health facilities and delivering high-end medical equipment technologies to market. His development experience includes clinics, doctor’s offices, ambulatory surgery centers, and specialty hospitals. This project management ensured the on-time, on-budget opening of hundreds of facilities passing state licensure requirements, Medicare certification, and Joint Commission accreditation.

Our Science Advisory Board

Corey Boles, PhD

PhD, Senior Health Scientist & Regional Unit Manager at Cardno Chemrisk

Aaron Packman, PhD

PhD, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering at Northwestern University

Brett Cole

Managing Director & Chief Occupational Hygienist at Biosafety Pty Ltd

Paula J. Olsiewski, PhD

PhD, Contributing Scholar at Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Lucia Mullen

Senior Analyst at the Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security and a Research Associate at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Claire Bird, PhD

PhD, Technical and Managing Director at LITMAS Pty Ltd

Tonya Nichols, PhD

PhD, Senior Science Advisor at the Center for Environmental Solutions and Emergency Response

Lidia Morawska, PhD

Polish physicist and Distinguished Professor at the School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences of the Queensland University of Technology.

Don Weekes

President at Indoor Environmental Quality

Don Milton

Donald K. Milton is a professor of environmental health at the University of Maryland School of Public Health.

Jade Mitchell

Associate Professor at Michigan State University

Yair Hazi

Senior Consultant & Jurisdictional Coordinator IV at LMI

Travis McLing

Considered an expert in the fields of geologic mapping, fieldwork, carbon sequestration, geomicrobiology and hydrochemistry

Lance Becker, MD

MD, FAHA is an investigator at the Feinstein Institutes for Medical Research and serves as the chair and professor of emergency medicine at the Zucker School of Medicine

Monica Schoch-Spana

Medical anthropologist, is a Senior Scholar with the Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security and a Senior Scientist in the Department of Environmental Health

William P. Bahnfleth, PhD

Ph.D., P.E., Fellow/Presidential Member ASHRAE, is a professor in the Department of Architectural Engineering at The Pennsylvania State University—University Park, PA

Darla Goeres, PhD

Dr. Darla Goeres has over twenty years of experience researching biofilm bacteria in industrial systems

Kevin Van Den Wymelenberg, PhD

PhD, Director, Institute for Health in the Built Environment; Director, Biology & The Built Environment Center; Director, Energy Studies in Buildings Laboratory; Professor of Architecture, University of Oregon

Mathew Fields

Professor, Microbiology and Cell Biology; Director, Center for Biofilm Engineering; Biofilm Physiology & Ecology Team Leader

Sonya Stokes

Assistant professor at Mount Sinai Icahn School of Medicine in the division of emergency medicine and global health, a fellow at Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security

Kirstin Omberg, PhD

PhD, Group Leader, Chemical and Biological Signatures

Melissa Marot

Melissa Marot, PhD

PhD, Consultant. Interest in Wellbeing & Performance at work

Jennifer Roberts

Assistant Professor of Kinesiology at the University of Maryland School of Public Health

Shawn Ryan

Director, Homeland Security Research Program, Office of Research and Development, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Graeme Marsh

President, Z BioScience Inc.

Jim Urtz

National Apprenticeship Director at LIUNA Training and Education Fund

Laurence Svirchev Black and white

Laurence Svirchev blue overlay

Laurence Svirchev, CIH

OHS Profesional, Industrial Hygienist

David Ladd

Owner and Principal at Blackthorne Services Group, LLC

Michael Ferreira

Chief Operating Officer at Vision Solutions AR and The Fire Solutions Group